Enjoyment and joie de vivre in our Basel restaurant

Enjoying a leisurely meal and celebrating the lightness of being – this is what our hotel's very own Bohemia Restaurant, which is unique in the Basel region, stands for. The name says it all: in the 18th century, fun-loving bohemians such as Pablo Picasso, James Joyce, Toulouse-Lautrec and Oscar Wilde used the café as a central meeting point for their free-and-easy lifestyle. They are emulated by numerous guests who appreciate our bohemian-styled restaurant with its seasonal delicacies.

Where fine food meets a zest for life

The Bohemia Restaurant, with 240 indoor and outdoor seats, is located right on the Marktplatz on the ground floor of the Hotel Märthof in Basel. You can experience the vibrant city life here 365 days a year from 6.30 a.m. to midnight, enjoying gastronomy of the highest level. 

 

If you want to eat well in Basel, you've definitely come to the right place. Some of our restaurant's meat, fish and vegetable specialities are prepared on an open wood-fired grill, giving them a very special flavour. At lunchtime, we can offer you not only our excellent à la carte menu but also a variety of set lunches that will send any gourmet into raptures. 

 

Every Saturday and Sunday, there's also the opportunity to book our tasty Bohemia brunch. If you like to be entertained with good music in the evening while delighting your palate, you will not be disappointed at the Bohemia Restaurant, as we regularly invite musicians who fill our restaurant with even more vitality. 

Opening houres

Sun - Thu : 07:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat : 07:00 - 01:00 

 

Bohemia Bar

Whether a fine cocktail, exquisite wine or strong espresso: let us spoil you with the best drinks at our bar.

Bohemia Grill

Enjoy fresh meat or vegetables in a special way? We will prepare it exclusively for you on our charcoal grill.

Lunch

Do you fancy a lunch of a special kind? Then visit us at Bohemia for a delicious lunch menu.

Breakfast & Brunch

Brunch in a cosy atmosphere or enjoy a delicious breakfast, at the Bohemia Basel we are happy to welcome you for that as well.

Function rooms and banqueting rooms with artistic flair

Adjacent to our restaurant in Basel are two function and banqueting rooms with bohemian-themed names, providing space in which to spend memorable hours with like-minded individuals. 

 

The "Charleston" room is named after the famous American society dance, while the "Gatsby" room is dedicated to the main character in F. Scott Fitzgerald's famous novel. The rooms are decorated with pictures painted by local artist Patrizia Stalder, and can also be used for seminars and meetings upon request.

Savoir-Vivre in the heart of Basel

Address

Hotel Märthof 
Marktgasse 19
CH-4051 Basel

Contact

Tel.: +41 61 466 15 15
Email: hotel-maerthof@balehotels.ch

 

How to find us

We are easy to reach via public transport: from Basel main station (Bahnhof SBB) with tram no. 8 or 11 and from the Badischer Bahnhof (German Railway Station) with tram no. 6 until the Marktplatz stop. If you are arriving by car, paid parking spaces are available in Parkhaus Storchen (a 2-minute walk) or Hotel Pullman Basel Europe (5 minutes away by public transport). Due to the location in the car-free city centre, we recommend that you use the public transports to reach us.

Genuss und Lebensfreude im Basler Restaurant

Mit Genuss verweilen und die Leichtigkeit des Seins zelebrieren – dafür steht unser hoteleigenes, in der Region Basel einzigartiges Restaurant Bohemia. Der Name ist Programm: Im 18. Jahrhundert nutzen die lebensfrohen Bohemiens und Bohemiennes wie Pablo Picasso, James Joyce, Toulouse-Lautrec oder Oscar Wilde das Café als zentralen Treffpunkt ihres freien Lebensstils. Ihnen gleich tun es die zahlreichen Gäste, die unser im Stil der Boheme eingerichtetes Restaurant mit seinen saisonalen Delikatessen zu schätzen wissen.

Wo Gastronomie auf Lebensfreude trifft

Das Restaurant Bohemia liegt mit seinen insgesamt 240 Plätzen im Innen- und Aussenbereich direkt am Marktplatz im Erdgeschoss des Hotels Märthof Basel. 365 Tage im Jahr können Sie hier von 6:30 bis 24 Uhr das pulsierende Stadtleben spüren und dabei Gastronomie auf höchstem Niveau geniessen. 

 

Wenn Sie in Basel gut essen möchten, sind Sie bei uns garantiert richtig: Einige unserer hauseigenen Fleisch-, Fisch- und Gemüsespezialitäten werden auf einem offenen Holzkohlegrill zubereitet, wodurch sie einen ganz besonderen Geschmack entfalten. Zur Mittagszeit servieren wir Ihnen neben dem ausgezeichneten À-la-carte-Angebot vielfältige Mittagsmenüs, die jeden Gourmet ins Schwärmen bringen. 

 

Jeweils samstags und sonntags besteht zudem die Möglichkeit, unseren leckeren Bohemia Brunch zu buchen. Wer sich während des Gaumenschmauses am Abend gern von guter Musik unterhalten lässt, kommt im Restaurant Bohemia ebenfalls auf seine Kosten – denn wir laden regelmässig Musikerinnen und Musiker ein, die unser Haus mit noch mehr Lebensfreude füllen. 

Öffnungszeiten

So - Do : 07:00 - 00:00 Uhr

Fr - Sa : 07:00 - 01:00 Uhr

 

Bohemia Bar

Ob feiner Cocktail, erlesener Wein oder kräftiger Espresso: Lassen Sie sich an unserer Bar mit besten Getränken verwöhnen.

Bohemia Grill

Frisches Fleisch oder Gemüse auf besondere Art geniessen? Wir bereiten es auf unserem Holzkohlegrill exklusiv für Sie zu.

Mittagessen

Haben Sie Lust auf einen Lunch der besonderen Art? Dann besuchen Sie uns das Bohemia zum leckerem Mittagsmenü.

Frühstück & Brunch

In gemütlicher Atmosphäre brunchen oder ein köstliche Frühstück geniessen, im Bohemia Basel empfangen wir Sie gerne auch dafür.

Gesellschafts- und Banketträume mit künstlerischem Flair

Angrenzend an unser Restaurant in Basel befinden sich zwei Gesellschafts- und Banketträume, die bereits mit ihren Namen die Boheme repräsentieren und Raum für illustre Stunden im Kreise Gleichgesinnter bieten. 

 

Der Raum «Charleston» bezieht sich auf den berühmten amerikanischen Gesellschaftstanz, während «Gatsby» sich der Hauptperson des berühmten Romans von F. Scott Fitzgerald widmet. Die Räume sind mit Bildern der lokalen Künstlerin Patrizia Stalder dekoriert und können auf Wunsch auch für Seminare und Meetings genutzt werden.

Savoir-Vivre im Herzen von Basel

Adresse

Hotel Märthof 
Marktgasse 19
CH-4051 Basel

Kontakt

Tel.: +41 61 466 15 15
Email: hotel-maerthof@balehotels.ch

 

Anfahrt

Sie erreichen uns ganz bequem mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln: vom Bahnhof SBB mit dem Tram Nr. 8 (Richtung Kleinhüningen / Weil am Rhein) oder 11 (Richtung: St. Louis-Grenze) und vom Badischen Bahnhof mit dem Tram Nr. 6 (Richtung: Allschwil Dorf) bis Haltestelle Marktplatz. Für Reisende mit dem Auto stehen im Parkhaus Storchen (2 Minuten Fussweg) oder im Hotel Pullman Basel Europe (5 Minuten mit dem öffentlichen Verkehr) kostenpflichtige Parkplätze zur Verfügung. Aufgrund der Lage in der Autofreien Innenstadt, empfehlen wir Ihnen eine Anreise mit den Öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln.